Frodo Baggins, Samwise Gamgee, Sketti and more…

I have no specific topic or message for this particular post…so I will be all over the place. I came up with the name for this post after watching stupid Frodo talking really reckless to Sam on Lord of the Rings: Return of the King. Sam should have knocked the shit out of him one good time! Sam was the man! Anyway, I shall proceed…

  • Since the YouTube video is above; I’ll start with December, 1963 (Oh, What a Night) by Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons. I have heard this song for most of my life but actually paid attention to the lyrics the other morning during the commute to work (I listen to little bit of everything…just whatever catches and holds my attention which is hard to do). Is this song about a guy losing his virginity to some woman he hardly knew, performance issues, or both? Maybe I am late for the bus on this one, but I have always sang along never giving thought to what they were singing about.
  • Ranch dressing as a condiment like ketchup and mustard? I guess it’s the equivalent of me ordering honey mustard to dip fries.
  • I watched the final Presidential debate and couldn’t help but think about the BET Hip Hop Awards. I like to check out the Hip Hop Awards for the “cypher” freestyle sessions which to me can be compared to the debates. Both are a battle of words, during the debates the candidates try to get off their “zingers” which basically are the same as “punch lines” in freestyles as they are intended to leave a lasting impression with the audience, and they are both judged by people who more than likely have a predisposition on who they will select as the winner. The stakes are higher with the Presidential debates. Go vote…if you haven’t already!
  • Fact: You run the risk of temporarily going blind if you take over 50 cell phone pictures of yourself (flash on) while attempting to get the perfect shot to update your Facebook profile.
  • Every time I hear or think about the saying “Give me my flowers while I’m living” I think of my Grandma. Remember to show the special people in your life how much you appreciate and love them while they are here.
  • I recently made spaghetti for dinner and couldn’t help but think of who would win in a throwdown — my spaghetti vs. Honey Boo Boo’s mom’s Sketti!
  • I am regretting the time lost this past weekend watching two movies: Dream House and The Roommate…both kinda sucked! Okay, I admit that I began watching both more that half way into them. I have a bad habit of this.
  • What do kids watch on Saturday mornings these days? I remember having a big bowl of cereal and watching episode after episode of cartoons from like 7am – noon! I loved the Super Friends!
  • Living in Nashville most of my life, I know about the Bluebird Cafe. Passing by it on the way to my company’s picnic on Saturday; I was like, “That’s the songwriter’s spot from the show Nashville!” Is this an example of the power of the media?
  • Speaking of Nashville…has Powers Boothe ever played a good guy? I mean from Guyana Tragedy: The Story of Jim Jones, Tombstone, Sin City and Deadwood…he always portrays a shady character. I think I’ll have to watch Frailty again because I cannot remember if he was good or bad in the movie. Maybe Comcast has it OnDemand…
By JB

One comment on “Frodo Baggins, Samwise Gamgee, Sketti and more…

Leave a comment